Game Talk: Aleksandra Jarosz beim Science Meets Fiction Festival

  • Aleksandra Jarosz
  • Fantastic Fetus
Date

How to talk to others by Games

Lecture by Aleksandra Jarosz and Game Talk with Sonja Prlic and Aleksandra Jarosz

 

Friday 1st October 202h1, 7.30pm
THE CINEMA

FREE ENTRY
LANGUAGE: ENGLISH

It's the end of the world as we know it - and what then? The young Polish game artist Aleksandra Jarosz shows ways how to get into conversation with and about computer games: her work mixes activist and research strategies. In 2019 she was the game designer of the game Fantastic Fetus, which was created against the background of the Polish anti-abortion laws and eventually became a political protest game. The game is a pregnancy tamagotchi that involves superpowers.

As a psychologist, she designed the game "Indygo", broached the subject of depression and recently completed her studies with a game to test the emotional world of players. In Game Talk she will discuss the possibilities of games to initiate debates and open conversations.


Aleksandra Jarosz is a psychologist and game designer at Purple Lamp Studio, Vienna. Her PhD project at the Akademie der Künste, Katowice, explored personality measurement in games. The interview is conducted by the scientist and media artist Sonja Prlic, who was awarded a project at ARS Ellectronica U14 in 2021.


Please also visit the many other events of the festival!
In events from September 27th to October 10th, fictional future designs and scientific findings will be related to one another. "It's the end of the world as we know it" is the motto of this year's festival. We are particularly interested in the second part of the term "... as we know it". H. for the references to transformation processes that do not mean the end of the world, but a different and perhaps better world. The science fiction articles on catastrophic possible futures usually also contain visions of preferable futures, i.e. desirable future developments that we are capable of especially in the face of impending dangers.

Game Talk: Aleksandra Jarosz beim Science Meets Fiction Festival

  • Aleksandra Jarosz
  • Fantastic Fetus
Date

How to talk to others by Games

Vortrag von Aleksandra Jarosz und Gespräch Sonja Prlic und Aleksandra Jarosz in ENGLISH

 

Freitag, 1. Oktober 2021, 19:30
DAS KINO

EINTRITT FREI
SPRACHE: ENGLISCH

It's the end of the world as we know it – und was dann? Die junge polnische Game-Künstlerin Aleksandra Jarosz zeigt Wege auf, wie man mit und über Computerspiele ins Gespräch kommt: ihre Arbeit mischt aktivistische und forschende Strategien. 2019 war sie Game Designerin des Spiels Fantastic Fetus, das vor dem Hintergrund der polnischen Anti-Abtreibungsgesetze entstand und schließlich zum politischen Protest-Spiel wurde. Das Spiel ist ein Schwangerschafts-Tamagotchi, in dem Superkräfte involviert sind.

Als Psychologin hat sie das Spiel „Indygo“ gestaltet, das Depression thematisiert und jüngst ihr Studium mit einem Spiel zum Testen der Gefühlswelt von Spieler*innen abgeschlossen. Im Game Talk wird sie die Möglichkeiten von Spielen Debatten anzustoßen und Gespräche zu eröffnen, erörtern.


Aleksandra Jarosz ist Psychologin und Game Designerin bei Purple Lamp Studio, Wien. Ihr PhD-Projekt an der Akademie der Künste, Katowice, hat personality measurement in Spielen erforscht. Das Gespräch führt die Wissenschaftlerin und Medienkünstlerin Sonja Prlic, die 2021 u.a. mit einem Projekt bei der ARS Ellectronica U14 ausgezeichnet wurde.


Besuchen Sie auch die vielen weiteren Veranstaltungen des Festivals!
In Veranstaltungen vom 27. September bis 10. Oktober werden fiktionale Zukunftsentwürfe und wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse in Beziehung zueinander gesetzt. „It’s the end of the world as we know it“ lautet das Motto des heurigen Festivals. Wir interessieren uns besonders für den zweiten Begriffsbestandteil „…as we know it“, d. h. für die Hinweise auf Transformationsprozesse, die nicht das Ende der Welt, sondern eine andere und vielleicht auch bessere Welt bedeuten. Die Science-Fiction-Beiträge zu katastrophischen possible futures beinhalten in aller Regel ja auch Visionen von preferable futures, also erstrebenswerte Zukunftsentwicklungen, zu denen wir gerade angesichts drohender Gefahren fähig sind.